Charlotte City Council

Conference room with five Charlotte crown flags in background

The mayor and 11 council members make up the Charlotte City Council. Together, they create city policies, review and approve the city budget, and more. The City Council also appoints the city manager, the city attorney, the city clerk and other key officials.

More About the City Council and Appointed Officials

Elections for the City Council are held every two years. A citywide vote determines the mayor and four at-large council members. Each Charlotte City Council district also elects one council member.

The City Council hires the city manager, city attorney and city clerk. The city manager oversees the day-to-day operations of the city government. The city attorney represents the City of Charlotte in civil trials and legal matters. The city clerk is a liaison between the council and the public.