Neighborhood Equity and Stabilization (NEST) Commission

The Charlotte Neighborhood Equity and Stabilization (NEST) Commission was approved through the adoption of the Charlotte Future 2040 Comprehensive Plan and is charged with reviewing and recommending specific anti-displacement strategies and tools for protecting residents of moderate to high vulnerability of displacement.

The commission is established for three years, beginning in 2022, and will report regularly to the Housing, Safety and Community City Council Committee. Commission members, appointed by the mayor and Charlotte City Council, consist of housing advocates; neighborhood leaders and community organizers; residents who have experienced or are experiencing displacement; real estate development representatives; urban studies and planning representatives; housing finance representatives; land use representatives; and neighborhood conditions representatives.

The commission is supported by city staff from Housing & Neighborhood Services, the City Manager’s Office, and Planning, Design & Development.

Commission meeting times will be announced on the citywide events calendar.

In 2023, the City of Charlotte partnered with the NEST Commission to develop the City’s Anti-Displacement Strategy. The Strategy, together with available data such as the displacement risk dashboard, will help guide the City’s efforts to mitigate displacement.

(NEST) Commission Members

Mayor-Appointed Members

  • Co-Chair Kim Graham, Resident who has experienced or is experiencing displacement
  • Marta Tataje, Housing Advocate
  • Melissa Gaston, Neighborhood leader/community organizer
  • Mitch Gibson, Non-profit affordable housing developer
  • Nadia Anderson, Urban studies and planning

City Council-Appointed Members

  • Co-Chair Justin Harlow, Housing advocate
  • Angela Ambroise, Land use
  • Deon Smith, Housing Finance
  • Eric Lemieux, Market Rate Housing Developer
  • Eric Lewis, For-Profit Affordable Housing Developer
  • Kimberly Timmons-Hampton, Housing Advocate
  • Monique Humphries, Resident who has experienced or is experiencing displacement
  • Roma Johnson, Neighborhood leaders or community organizers
  • Vicki Jones, Neighborhood leader/community organizer