Charlotte MOVES Task Force

Charlotte Moves Task Force up town

Mayor Vi Lyles

Former Mayor
Harvey Gantt

The Charlotte MOVES Task Force fulfilled its charge in December 2020 and recommended to the Charlotte City Council a strategy to address mobility and transportation issues in the Charlotte area.

The task force recommended a program to increase investments in projects the city has already adopted to meet mobility goals. Together as a network, these projects and investments would seamlessly connect people to jobs, housing, and other necessities and amenities without reliance on a car. They would also put the city on a trajectory to meet its goals of equitable development, access to opportunity, affordable housing and environmental sustainability.

In addition to recommending this “transformational mobility network” of projects, the task force has proposed a funding strategy for the network that centers on a “one cent for mobility” sales tax.

Learn more about the task force’s recommendations by reading of the full Charlotte MOVES Task Force Report. Please note: Flash must be enabled to view the report in its flipbook format. Download the Charlotte MOVES Task Force Report PDF(PDF, 45MB) if you are unable to view the flipbook.

About the Charlotte MOVES Task Force

At the direction of Mayor Vi Lyles, the Charlotte City Council appointed to the task force 25 community leaders from across the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area who represent business, government, transportation and planning, education, nonprofits and more. Former Charlotte mayor Harvey Gantt led the task force.

Members met regularly from May to December 2020. Meetings were livestreamed on the city's Facebook page and YouTube channel to allow for public participation.


  • Aaron Lay, Attorney, Hamilton Stephens Steele + Martin

  • Betty Doster, Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Constituent Relations, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

  • Bill Coxe, Huntersville

  • Chris Turner, Senior Vice President of Strategic Initiatives, CBI

  • Danielle Frazier, CEO, Charlotte Works

  • David Johnson, Matthews

  • David Ward, Assistant Vice President, Brighthouse Financial

  • Elyas Mohammed, United Indian Community

  • Eric Zaverl, Sustain Charlotte

  • Pedro Perez, Executive Director, Charlotte Family Housing

  • Raquel Lynch, Chief Program Officer, Goodwill Industries of Southern Piedmont

  • Reggie Henderson, Vice President of Government Relations, Lowe’s

  • Ernie Reigel, Attorney, Moore & Van Allen

  • Geraldine Gardner, Executive Director, Centralina Council of Governments

  • Janet LaBar, President and CEO, Charlotte Regional Business Alliance

  • Jim Marascio, Chief Delivery Officer, Accelerance

  • Karl Froelich, Convergent Resources

  • Keba Samuel, Vice Chair, Charlotte Planning Commission

  • Ken May, Mecklenburg County Boy Scouts of America

  • Harvey Gantt, Former Mayor of Charlotte and Chair of the Charlotte Moves Task Force

  • Nick McJetters, Grove Park Neighborhood Association

  • Sonja Smith, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Hearing Officer and Real Estate Broker

  • Stefania Arteaga, ACLU of North Carolina

  • Tami Simmons, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Johnson C. Smith University

  • William Hughes, Mortgage Loan Officer