Free Rabies Clinics For Mecklenburg County Residents
Protecting your pets against rabies is the best way to protect yourself, especially if your dog or cat spends a lot of time outdoors. You may not know if your pet has made contact with a rabid wild animal. If your pet is vaccinated, then he cannot transmit the disease to you. To help keep you and your pets safe, we offer second free rabies clinics.
Help us keep this a free program by donating!
When: 2nd Saturday of every month (EXCEPT JULY! We hold our July event on the First Saturday of the month to prep for July 4th.)
What time: 8:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.
Line cut off is promptly at 10:45am so that owners in line can be served faster with one-on-one attention prior to opening for regular business. Anyone that comes after 10:45am will be referred to the next clinic date.
Animal Care & Control
8315 Byrum Dr
What to bring:
Dogs on leash and cats in carriers
A picture ID with your current address.
If you are bringing an animal to the clinic for a family member, friend, or neighbor, you make sure youhave their photo ID (or a picture of their photo ID) with their current address and written permission (handwritten note, email, or text will work) for you to get their animals vaccinated.
Things to know:
Upon your visit, you will see a tent with tables and a cart in the parking lot in front of the building closest to our barn. There may be a line but start there. Volunteers will be on site to help direct you.
No appointment needed.
All rabies vaccines given will be valid for 1 year.
Animals 4 months of age and older can receive a rabies vaccine. Pets under 4 months cannot receive a rabies vaccine.
Your pet will not receive a rabies vaccination from us if it is requested more than 30 days before the previous shot’s expiration date. Rabies vaccinations requested within the final 30 days or after expiration will be given.
You can also visit pets.findhelp.com to help you find low-cost and free services in Charlotte and surrounding areas.
ACC responds to hundreds of calls involving wildlife. As Charlotte grows and the wildlife habitat is destroyed conditions are perfect for more human and wild animal interactions as well as pet and wild animal interactions.
Coexisting with Wildlife
North Carolina State Law requires every dog and cat four months of age and older to be vaccinated against rabies. This law also applies to ferrets within the city limits of Charlotte. This vaccine must be administered by a licensed veterinarian. In North Carolina, the animal's first rabies shot is good for one year and subsequent vaccinations are valid for three years. If you have recently moved to North Carolina and the rabies vaccination was given at a vet out of NC then it is still a valid shot (regardless of it being a 1 year or 3-year shot).
Please be a responsible pet owner by displaying your animal's rabies tag at all times. This can help alleviate fear if someone is approached by your pet. The fine for failing to display a rabies tag is $50.00 and a $50.00 fine may be levied if your animal does not have a valid rabies vaccination.