Urban Design

People gathered outside South End Studio Entrance The Studio

The Urban Design Center operates out of the South End Studio located at 1507 Camden Road, Charlotte NC 28203.  The Studio previously operated as a trolley museum and now serves as the hub of urban design and placemaking for the City of Charlotte.  Although the COVID-19 pandemic delayed the unveiling of the refreshed space, the Charlotte Urban Design Center team will once again open its doors with new events and capacity-building programs for civic innovation in Summer 2022.  Keep up to date with announcements by following the Urban Design Center on social media (@clturbandesign).

In the meantime, please come and enjoy The Studio's public patio space.  Stop by for a game of five-person ping-pong or a teeter-totter ride!

People playing ping pong outside of the Urban Design Center


Erin Chantry, LEED AP ND, CNU-A

Program Manager, Urban Design Center

Erin.Chantry@CharlotteNC.gov

Laura Bandara, ASLA

Project Manager & Urban Designer

Laura.Bandara@CharlotteNC.gov

Will Linvile, AICP

Senior Urban Designer & Planner

Will.Linvile@CharlotteNC.gov

Justin Ritchey

Urban Designer & Planner

Justin.Ritchey@CharlotteNC.gov

Jacob Huffman

Associate Urban Designer & Planner

Jacob.Huffman@CharlotteNC.gov

Kate Cavazza

Associate Urban Designer & Planner

Kate.Cavazza@CharlotteNC.gov

Jessica Macks

Placemaking Event Coordinator

Jessica.Macks@CharlotteNC.gov

Events & Activities