Charlotte Moves Task Force

At the direction of Mayor Vi Lyles, the Charlotte Moves Task Force was formed to address mobility and transportation issues in Charlotte.

Task force members will advise the City of Charlotte in the creation of a new Strategic Mobility Plan that integrates and updates current vehicle, pedestrian, bicycle, transit and safety plans, and sets mobility goals for the city and immediate region. As key community representatives, members will be guiding forces in shaping the Strategic Mobility Plan’s vision, and realizing that vision by recommending a catalytic network of projects and a funding strategy to the Charlotte City Council.

Led by former Mayor Harvey Gantt, the task force comprises 25 community leaders from across the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area who represent business, government, transportation and planning, education, nonprofits and more.

The task force will meet from 6-8:30 p.m. once a month, May through December 2020. It is currently not scheduled to meet in July.

Meeting schedule:

May 14, June 23, Aug. 6, Sept. 17, Oct. 22, Nov. 18, Dec. 3 Send your questions or comments to


  • Aaron Lay, Attorney, Hamilton Stephens Steele + Martin

  • Betty Doster, Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Constituent Relations, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

  • Bill Coxe, Huntersville

  • Carolyn Millen, President, Eastway Park/Sheffield Park Neighborhood Association

  • Chris Turner, Senior Vice President of Strategic Initiatives, CBI

  • Danielle Frazier, CEO, Charlotte Works

  • David Ward, Assistant Vice President, Brighthouse Financial

  • Elyas Mohammed, United Indian Community

  • Eric Zaverl, Sustain Charlotte

  • Pedro Perez, Executive Director, Charlotte Family Housing

  • Raquel Lynch, Chief Program Officer, Goodwill Industries of Southern Piedmont

  • Reggie Henderson, Vice President of Government Relations, Lowe’s

  • Ernie Reigel, Attorney, Moore & Van Allen

  • Geraldine Gardner, Executive Director, Centralina Council of Governments

  • Janet LaBar, President and CEO, Charlotte Regional Business Alliance

  • Jim Marascio, Chief Delivery Officer, Accelerance

  • Karl Froelich, Convergent Resources

  • Keba Samuel, Vice Chair, Charlotte Planning Commission

  • Ken May, Mecklenburg County Boy Scouts of America

  • Harvey Gantt, Former Mayor of Charlotte and Chair of the Charlotte Moves Task Force

  • Nick McJetters, Grove Park Neighborhood Association

  • Sonja Smith

  • Stefania Arteaga, ACLU of North Carolina

  • Tami Simmons, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Johnson C. Smith University

  • William Hughes, Mortgage Loan Officer