Past Commissions

Charlotte Moves

The Charlotte MOVES Task Force fulfilled its charge in December 2020 and recommended to the Charlotte City Council a strategy to address mobility and transportation issues in the Charlotte area.

The task force recommended a program to increase investments in project the city has already adopted to meet mobility goals. Together as a network, these projects sand investments would seamlessly connect people to jobs, housing, and other necessities and amenities without reliance on a car. They would also put the city on a trajectory to meet its goals of equitable development, access to opportunity, affordable housing and environmental sustainability.

In addition to recommending this "transformational mobility network" of projects, the task force has proposed a funding strategy for the network that centers on a "one cent for mobility" sales tax.

Learn more about the task force's recommendations by reading of the full Charlotte MOVES Task Force Report. Please note: Flash must be enabled to view the report in its flipbook format. Download the Charlotte Moves Task Force Report PDF if you are unable to view the flipbook.

Committee Members

  • Aaron Lay, Attorney, Hamilton Stephens Steele + Martin
  • Betty Doster, Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Constituent Relations, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Bill Coxe, Huntersville
  • Chris Turner, Senior Vice President of Strategic Initiatives, CBI
  • Danielle Frazier, CEO, Charlotte Works
  • David Johnson, Matthews
  • David Ward, Assistant Vice President, Brighthouse Financial
  • Elyas Mohammed, United Indian Community
  • Eric Zaverl, Sustain Charlotte
  • Pedro Perez, Executive Director, Charlotte Family Housing
  • Raquel Lynch, Chief Program Officer, Goodwill Industries of Southern Piedmont
  • Reggie Henderson, Vice President of Government Relations, Lowe’s
  • Ernie Reigel, Attorney, Moore & Van Allen
  • Geraldine Gardner, Executive Director, Centralina Council of Governments
  • Janet LaBar, President and CEO, Charlotte Regional Business Alliance
  • Jim Marascio, Chief Delivery Officer, Accelerance
  • Karl Froelich, Convergent Resources
  • Keba Samuel, Vice Chair, Charlotte Planning Commission
  • Ken May, Mecklenburg County Boy Scouts of America
  • Harvey Gantt, Former Mayor of Charlotte and Chair of the Charlotte Moves Task Force
  • Nick McJetters, Grove Park Neighborhood Association
  • Sonja Smith, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Hearing Officer and Real Estate Broker
  • Stefania Arteaga, ACLU of North Carolina
  • Tami Simmons, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Johnson C. Smith University
  • William Hughes, Mortgage Loan Officer

Source of Income Ad Hoc Advisory Committee

The Source of Income Ad Hoc Advisory Committee was charged with developing recommendations, program enhancements and process improvements that will increase the acceptance of all forms of rental subsidies including the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program, the largest source of rental subsidies in Charlotte.

The goal of the committee’s work was to increase safe and affordable housing opportunities for low-to-moderate income households. Successful outcomes of this work will include the participation of community experts and collaboration with INLIVIAN, other rental subsidy providers, and small, large and medium-sized property owners and management companies.

Source of Income Ad Hoc Advisory Members

  • Beverly Baucom, S.L. Nusbaum
  • Mark Ethridge, Ascent Real Estate Capital (Co-Chair)
  • Kim Graham, Greater Charlotte Apartment Association (Co-Chair)
  • Clay Grubb, Grubb Properties

Legacy Commission

In the 21st century, Charlotte is a city that is growing fast, simultaneously becoming more racially and ethnically diverse and socioeconomically disparate. A mosaic of longtime residents and newcomers from across the U.S. and around the world creates both a dynamic cultural landscape and new challenges that force us to consider issues of equity and inclusion.

There is a legacy of racial discrimination in Charlotte that has denied African Americans and other people of color the opportunities to participate fully in the city’s government, civic life, economy and educational advancement. Vestiges of this legacy are symbolically represented in streets, monuments, and buildings named in honor of slave owners, champions of the Confederacy and proponents of white supremacy.

The Legacy Commission believes that the continued memorialization of slave owners, Confederate leaders and white supremacists on street signs does not reflect the values that Charlotte upholds today and is a direct affront to descendants of the enslaved and oppressed African Americans who labored to build this city.

The commission recommended changing street names and reimagining civic spaces to create a new symbolic landscape that is representative of the dynamic and diverse city Charlotte has become and reflective of the inclusive vision it strives to achieve.

Review the Legacy Commission’s Final Recommendations

Watch Legacy Commission Meetings and Related Content YouTube Playlist

Citizen Advisory Committee on Governance

Mayor Vi Lyles and former Mayor Pro Tem Julie Eiselt formed an ad hoc Citizen Advisory Committee on Governance to review the current structure of the Charlotte City Council and make recommendations regarding term lengths, methods of implementation for proposed changes and related compensation.

The committee will propose policy guidelines and principles for City Council to consider given the results the 2020 Census data.

Committee Members

  • Co-Chair Cyndee Patterson, Lynwood Foundation.
  • Co-Chair Amy Peacock, VirtualAthlete and Joe Martin ALS Foundation.
  • Kristen Conner, Keller Williams SouthPark.
  • Mimi Davis, retired teacher.
  • Christy Long, Wells Fargo.
  • Brandon Pierce, Coca-Cola Consolidated – Culture and Stewardship.
  • Cecy Ramirez, Hispanic community leader.
  • Janice Robinson, Cabarrus College.
  • Rev. Eleanor Norman Shell, Presbytery of Charlotte and non-profit consultant.
  • Sam Smith, United Way of Central Carolinas.
  • Peter Smolowitz, Eric Mower + Associates.
  • Liz Winer, Winer Family Foundation.