City Government at a Glance

Since 1929, Charlotte has operated under a council-manager form of government that divides responsibilities between elected officials and an appointed city manager.

Citizens elect the mayor and 11 council members every two years. The mayor and four council members are elected at large by a citywide vote and seven council members are elected from districts by voters who reside in each district. More information about districts and maps.

The mayor and city council are the “board of directors” of this municipal corporation. As such, they set policy, approve the financing of all city operations and enact ordinances, resolutions and orders. Their responsibilities also include appointing the city manager, city attorney, city clerk and members of various boards and commissions.

The city manager, functioning as the chief operating officer, administers the policy and decisions made by city council and oversees the day-to-day operations of city government. It is the city manager’s responsibility to ensure that all city services are delivered in an efficient and cost-effective manner and to provide vision and leadership to the city organization.